Interview With Naya Nikki (@nayanikki), Author of Familiar Ties #eBook #Romance

9 May

Hello everyone and welcome back to the Book Nook.

Today I have a real treat for you all. I managed to snag an interview with Naya Nikki, the author of contemporary romance, FAMILIAR TIES, set for release by Inkspell Publishing on May 21, 2012.

If you haven’t yet heard about the book, I will take care of that for you right now :)

Here is the Back of the Book teaser for the novel:

Max West is a widower raising Phoebe, his four-year-old daughter. Phoebe has to live with the fact that the day she was born is also the day of her mother’s death. As her fifth year without her mother approaches, Phoebe finds solace in her godmother, Amy Riley, and her daughter, Grace Crawford, another single parent family.

Amy Riley is a successful fashion designer who spends most of her days raising her four-year-old daughter, Grace, while her wayward boyfriend is travelling the world making the next best film. As the fifth year without her best friend looms she finds comfort in her ex-boyfriend, Max, and his daughter, Phoebe.

These two “broken” families have a tough week to face as the dreaded day approaches. However through their past, present and debatable future will their choices affect the outcome both parents clearly want and are simply denying? Or will Phoebe and Grace lose the only “whole” family they have ever known?

You can Pre-Order a copy from the publisher (Inkspell Publishing)  HERE.

You can also add the novel to your Good reads list by clicking on the button. While you’re there, make sure you enter to win one of 3 free copies being given away on Goodreads.

Without further ado — here is the interview transcript.

How did you start your writing career?

As a kid I love writing short stories about my favourite TV characters and what would have happened if I met them or something cool like that. Then as I grew older I began to get more complex story lines in my head and began to write those in the back of maths lessons. Writing has always been with me since a young age, it probably helped that my mum used to take me to the library since before I could read, so my imagination has always run wild.

Tell us about your current release.

Familiar Ties is a book about two little girls who want nothing more than what everyone else has a mother and a father. Max lost his wife Anna when she gave birth to their daughter, Phoebe, and found solace in his wife best friend and his ex girlfriend Amy. Amy’s boyfriend Jack is always travelling the world for work and so when a few months after her best friend’s death she finds she’s pregnant with his baby she turns to Max. Both their girls grow up together and want nothing more than for the four of them to be a family. However Amy still feels like she has an obligation to Jack as he is her daughter’s father; and Max still feels like it is too soon to move of after Anna’s death.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned while writing your book?

It was strange to find that I really got involved with the characters’ lives and how much of their experiences were based on my own; whether it was having someone being a jackass like Jack in my life, or having your heartbroken like Amy, I could really relate to the characters and I hope it is something the readers can as well.

What do you think makes a good story?

I’ve been told to only write what you would read. So that, to me, is what makes a good story because the writer would want to read it and therefore they would make it the best story possible so that others can enjoy it as well. A good story must also contain great characters because without characters there is no story.

Plotter or Pantser? Why?

I’m a bit of both. I plot everything out to the tee and then end up changing it all by page 5. I would love to be a complete Plotter because it would make my life so much easier so I knew what I was writing, however I am more of a Pantser because I’m not decisive and my imagination runs riot too much.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Like most little girls I was content at being a princess, however when I realised there wasn’t a hope in hell of that happening I knew I wanted to do something with literature and writing. To be honest I am now 19 and still don’t know what I want to do except it has to include literature and writing, maybe I’ll continue writing, maybe I’ll go into publishing or maybe teaching…I don’t know yet but I am excited to see what the world has in store for me.

What songs are most played on your Ipod?

Anything by Kate Voegele and Angels and Airwaves I should think, because I can just leave them on in the background and not mind if I miss a song because I know them all off by heart…

Do you listen to music while writing? What was on the playlist when you were writing Familiar Ties?

I always listen to music; the only time I don’t have music playing in my room is when I’m not there or when I’m sleeping. I didn’t have a set playlist while I was writing, however when I know I need to concentrate I generally listen to Angels and Airwaves. I do not know what it is about their music but I concentrate better with them on in the background.

What do you do to unwind and relax?

I love to look through old photos to relax, recently I have resorted to printing all my photos on proper photo paper and it is nice to see all those memories in my hands, and think about the good times. However now I am living away at university and it is great fun when my friend’s just pop down to my room and we will just chat and catch up in between assignments.

Do you have any suggestions for beginning writers? If so, what are they?

If you want to write, write. Don’t let anyone stop you from following your dream. But only let your secret out to people you trust, because people you barely spoke to will want you to suddenly write them in your story just so they can say it was about them. As I sign off everything Explore…Imagine…Believe. Explore your mind and everywhere around you. Imagine what you want to happen because you’re in control. Believe, because dreams will always come true with a lot of hard work.

Thanks so much for being such a great guest, Naya, and for those of you out there reading, make sure to pre-order your copy of Familiar Ties and add it to your Goodreads TBR lists (links above).

See you next time :)
~Bex

Leave a Reply

