Book Review: Hide and Seek by Aimee Laine

Hide & Seek
Hide & Seek by Aimee Laine
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 of 5 Stars! A fantastic, romantic paranormal read.

Having always been interested in mythologies and lore, I was keen to get my hands on this new novel by Aimee Laine. Games of Zeus? What could that be all about? The mind boggled. So when the review copy arrived in my inbox, I jumped in with both feet. Easy to do with the way Ms. Laine sets the stage at the outset. We start on an intriguing high and the story never lets go.

Hide and Seek takes established Greek mythology, sprinkles it with a dash of paranormal, and then shakes it all up with a healthy dose of passionate romance. Tasty vittles!

Based on the legend of the cunning fox who never gets caught and the always successful seeker, the hound, Hide and Seek features the most hunky male lead this reviewer has come across to date. Tripp Fox is exactly the kind of man who gets my attention–sweet and sexy with a dash of dangerous. I bet you can’t guess which side of Zeus’ paradox he plays? His counterpart, Lexi Shepherd, is of course, the hound, the seeker who can find whatever she looks for.

Our star-crossed (literally) soul mates are set at opposing sides of the ultimate paradox, and must figure out a way to best the game to be together.

I absolutely loved this story. It held enough tension and drama to keep me turning the pages and the romance balanced just the right amounts of sweet and steamy passion.

The secondary characters were absolutely wonderful. They really jumped off the page, and their presence added to the beautifully described, intricate details of the story, as well as the fictional paranormal town, Rune, N.C. which was also featured in Ms. Laine’s debut novel, Little White Lies.

The only thing that stopped me from giving this novel a full 5 star rating was Lexi Shepherd’s character. True to her nature, Lexi is good–almost to the point of prude. Throughout the story she questioned Tripp’s morals and intentions, despite his behaving quite well throughout the novel (considering he knows no matter what he can’t get caught if he doesn’t want to). About halfway through the novel, I found myself annoyed when she continually refused to trust Tripp or sometimes even give him the benefit of the doubt. For all we see him doing for her when in his POV, it was difficult to switch back and be “okay” with her distrust of his intentions. That being said, I did like her overall, and was rooting for her and Tripp to “make it”. I just needed to remind myself she was only being true to who she is — the upstanding and morally solid hound.

I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys paranormal romances, and would consider it a MUST READ for anyone with an interest in the Greek myths.

View all my reviews

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Fiction, Novel Reviews, Paranormal Romance, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I think I’m just going to sit here and stare at your review all day. ::squee::

    Like

  1. Pingback: My Own Games of Zeus Giveaway and an Interview with Aimee Laine #giveaway #free #ebook « Bex Book Nook

Leave a Reply

