Book Review: Knockout! A Passionate Police Romance


Knockout! A Passionate Police Romance by Emma Calin
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’ve not read this type of contemporary police drama/romance before, so I was interested to see if this was something I would enjoy or not. Unfortunately, I had a hard time really getting into this one. The writing, though clear enough, really didn’t engage me or draw me in as a reader. I never truly felt invested in the story, and the passive voice writing and backstory elements in the beginning really made the read hard for me.

I prefer a story to grab hold of me as a reader, and not let go till the last page — with loads of active voice, strong dialog and action. This story didn’t do that for me. I don’t really like writing unfavorable reviews, but I really just didn’t get into this at all. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t really enjoy it either.

I think I made it to about Chapter 4 before I decided to put it away and read something that I would find more engaging.

View all my reviews

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Fiction, Novel Reviews, Reviews, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

