Book Review: Truly, Madly, Deeply, You by Cecilia Robert

Truly, Madly, Deeply, You
Truly, Madly, Deeply, You by Cecilia Robert
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received an ARC copy of this contemporary romance novella from the publisher, Inkspell Publishing. Since I enjoy a nice short romantic read, a one-nighter as it were, once in a while, I dove in anxiously.

The story introduces us to Liese, a tortured young woman in self imposed mourning over a loss two years before. For the prior two years, she has spent the four days before Valentine’s day in solitude. Her plan to do so again.

Her best friend, Frey refuses to allow her to torture herself for another year, and vows to spend the four days by her side. He says he drew the short straw with her family, who is just as worried about her as he is, but we learn rather quickly that Frey has harbored feelings for Liese for a long time. What ensues is a very sweet, friends to lovers romance.

I was really drawn in by Frey’s sweetness and his obvious devotion to Liese as the story unfolded, especially when the first of the “notes” arrives–the card reading simply. Truly. The little notes continue to come, as does the time Frey and Liese spend in each others company. Ms Robert tosses in a few obstacles to their reunion, but we know these two are meant to be together in the end.

Overall, I enjoyed the short ride Ms Robert takes us on with these two characters. Some of the writing was a bit stiff for me in places, and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t able to tell the story was written by someone whose second language was English, but despite that, I really did find the story engaging and enjoyable. Ms Robert shows some real flashes of brilliance in some of her descriptions and I look forward to seeing what else this author has to offer her readers.

View all my reviews

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on March 3, 2012, in Fiction, Inkspell Publishing, Novella Reviews, Reviews, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Bex,

    Thanks for hosting Truly, Madly, as well as the wonderful review. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the story.
    Best,

    Cecilia

    Like

  1. Pingback: Release Day Party and #Giveaway: Truly.Madly.Deeply.You by Cecilia Robert #ebook « Bex Book Nook

Leave a Reply

