Jyslin Dalael: Etherian Priestess in Training: A Character Profile #atozchallenge #blogging #writing

Since today’s letter is J, I thought I would post today about my most recent character obsession, Jyslin (Jice-linn). I spelled it phonetically because I did have a reader friend giggle at the name. She had been pronouncing it differently, and well, it isn’t the sort of way I want her name remembered, if you get my meaning. I may even go back and change the spelling in the story to Jicelyn to avoid that little snag. I just wish I liked the way it looked on the page a bit better when spelled that way.

Regardless, here is my character page for Jyslin, the female lead character in a WIP novel I have given the working title of Destiny’s Trial. She plays opposite my favorite Bad Wolf, Domnu.

Name: Jyslin Dalael

Race: Etherian
Realm: Etheria (Mountain of Mists)

Appearance: Long ebony hair, pale skin and silver eyes.

Here are the images I pinned on Pinterest to represent Jyslin:

Notable Characteristics:ย Jyslin is an acolyte priestess who is embarking on her Cinuint journey (see the C post for the A to Z challenge for details on what that is). She runs into Domnu during her travels. Jyslin is Etherian, therefore able to breathe both air and water.

Other Facts of Interest: Jyslin has a Spirit Twin ( a frost owl) named Angus. I picture him as a large snowy own with blue tipped wings. Here is his inspiration image:

I find that it helps to have a mental image as well as a graphic to help represent my characters when I am in the process of writing their stories. For whatever reason, it seems to help the story flow.

Where do you get your story inspirations? Do you use graphic representations like I do, or do you have other ways to cement the characters in your mind?

Would love to know how others tackle these sorts of things. Feel free to share ๐Ÿ™‚

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on April 11, 2012, in A to Z Blogging Challenge 2012, Blogging, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m fascinated y obsessive characters in fiction. My personal one is Melissa, ghost from the past of my main character Julian, who has some elven antecedents, and not few features inherited from Nemesis… I like your owl ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d appreciate your comments at http://ofglassandpaper.com/the-page-chapter-one/ and the next chapter, if you have the time – may I read some excerpts of Destiny’s Trial?

    Like

    • I stopped in today to catch your post, but will check out that chapter posting, for sure.

      Aside from a few Six Sentence Sunday posts taken from the WIP, there is not a lot of Destiny’s Trial done (about 8k words to it so far) to share — Not yet anyway. I have tried to put the story aside (despite my current obsession) to complete the first of the series which is much further along (at 45k at the moment).

      Will have to see about posting some teaser excerpts over the coming days of Letter postings ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. She sounds like a cool character!
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com
    Dropping by from the A-Z!

    Like

Leave a Reply

