L is for Love, Baby! What Else? #atozchallenge #blogging #writing

What romance writer worth their salt wouldn’t use the big L word for the A to Z Challenge today? Okay, I guess I could have gone for something completely out of the norm, but heck, a girl gets lazy from time to time.

oOo — lazy — another excellent L word. One of my favorites…but I digress.

In writing my current novels in progress (all romances), I have become a bit obsessed with the word LOVE and its inner workings.

Love makes the world go round, or so they say.

Like anything else, it helps to understand better if we start with a basic definition:

love -[luhv] noun, verb, loved, lov·ing.

noun

1. a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.
2. a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.
3. sexual passion or desire.
4. a person toward whom love is felt; beloved person; sweetheart.
5. (used in direct address as a term of endearment, affection, or the like): Would you like to see a movie, love?
As you can see, even the definition itself has numerous variations and “types” of emotion – everything from adult sexual love to the love you feel for a child or pet.
Defining love in a text form is much easier than defining it in real life. How do we know we are in love, versus lust, or even strong friendship? Where does that line between like and love sit?
I don’t have a clue, quite frankly. I am just a writer and a parent mucking through life just like everyone else. I have no real answers or epiphany to share with you all. Love just doesn’t work that way…
But I think we, as writers are often charged with illustrating these lines, and giving a reader a glimpse into what makes a loving relationship and what it is like to be in love. We need to be able to immerse a reader in that warm glow as it is being experienced by our characters, and in some cases, we may even find we are giving our readers their first real glimpse at what is means to love or be loved.
What an awesome responsibility that is, when you stop to think about it.
God, I love being a writer…
About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on April 13, 2012, in A to Z Blogging Challenge 2012, Blogging, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Such a lovely post! Camus said: loving is not looking at each other but looking in the same direction (I cannot recall where) 🙂

    Like

  2. Love is lovely as a choice for “L”

    Like

  3. Love the passion of Love. I love writing too!
    Kate
    Follow & A to Z Visit http://solidhappiness.blogspot.com/

    Like

  4. Dropping by from the A-Z Challenge, nice to meet you! Lots of love in you’re post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

