M is for Machenwood: A Magical Fairy Tale Realm #atozchallenge #blogging #writing #Machenwood

Anyone who has followed this blog for any period of time has probably seen me at least mention Machenwood in my posts.

Heck, the name of the blog is The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales — so obviously, the place has a special meaning for me. The rest of you probably think I am just living in one of my imaginary worlds again.

If you think that, you are not too far off.

Machenwood is completely made up (no way!) and can be loosely translated from german.

Machen – fairy tale (I cant make those two little dots over the a, but they should be there) So, Machenwood translates basically to: Fairy Tale Wood and is the fictional realm I created to be the world where my WIP fantasy romance novel series, The Machenwood Chronicles takes place.

Here are a few of the early images I saved to give me a Machenwood feel:

If you have been following the A to Z postings here so far, you have already been introduced to some of Machenwood’s more famous residents — like Domnu, my version of the Big Bad Wolf.

I don’t want to give too much away here, but basically the novel series is Narnia meets Grimm’s Fairy Tales — I might have to remember that if I ever get a chance to pitch these suckers at a conference or event. The series currently has three books at least partially written and one or two others in the outline stages, so hopefully I will be spending a great deal of my time in Machenwood over the coming months.

God willing, some of you might have an opportunity to visit as well, once I have the stories all complete. Until then, you will just have to take my word for it…

Machenwood Rocks!!

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on April 14, 2012, in A to Z Blogging Challenge 2012, Blogging, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Just love Machenwood. I hope I get the opportunity to read more Machenwood tales soon.

    Like

  2. What a clever name you came up with, and the pictures are haunting. Good luck with your series. Narnia meets Grimm fairy tales sound like a great tagline!

    J.C. Martin
    A to Z Blogger

    Like

  3. Your world sounds wonderful. You must have had a blast creating it. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

