New Release News: Meet Elyzabeth M. VaLey, Author of THE LOST MERCENARY

Welcome to another installment of what is quickly becoming my favorite “regular” posting — New Release News. Today I have the author of THE LOST MERCENARY, Elyzabeth M. VaLey. Her novel released on November 5th from Evernight Publishing.

Welcome to the Book Nook Elyzabeth. I thought we would start out things with a few questions. Nothing too complicated, so don’t worry. *grin*

Bex: Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Elyzabeth: A lot of my novels begin with a single scene and no idea where they’re heading. However, once I’ve written that scene and gotten it out of my system, I try to plan out where I want the story to go. It is true, however, that a lot of the time those outlines change as a write.

Bex: Do you have any writing rituals or special processes you complete before sitting down to write?

Elyzabeth: I don’t have any specific writing rituals but I like to have music playing in the background when I write. Music plays an important part in most of my novels.

Bex: If you could only write in one genre for the rest of your career, what genre would you choose? Why?

 Elyzabeth: I think I would probably pick historical romance because there is so much to chose from. The possibilities of learning about actual history and intertwining it with a romance are practically endless!

Bex:  If allowed to keep only one book on your bookshelf, what would it be?

Elyzabeth: Oh, this is a hard question… I think, it’d probably be Lord of The Rings, especially now that they sell the trilogy as one book. It’s a book I never grow tired of reading.

Bex: What music was on your playlist while writing your novel?

Elyzabeth: I usually have a specific soundtrack for each novel, with one or two songs that stand out more than the rest. In the case of The Lost Mercenary there were three major songs:

1. For a lot of the action scenes, I used a video I found on You Tube titled “Epic Music Mix 4” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlPJYGY_mNg) .

2. “Promontory” from the film The Last of the Mohicans (this one is a long time favorite and I have also used it for the other two books in The Mercenary Tales). (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1ryJDVuZ6k)

3. Last but definitely not least, this song titled on Youtube “Braveheart-Main Theme”. However,  in the description it says that it “is not from the OST cd itself, it is made by a Celtic Bagpipe orchestra.” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYMySrHL0Fo)

Bex: Morning person or grumpy bear?

Elyzabeth: If I sleep well, I’ll wake up in a good mood, usually singing and playing with the dogs, or making noise as my sister says, *g* However, if I’ve had a bad night or am PMS’ing then… be scared.

Bex: What group were you a part of in High School? Jocks? Nerds? Metal heads?

Elyzabeth: In high school I wasn’t so much a nerd as a “weird one”. At the end of 10th grade, I became a weird one and a metal head, which made it even more fun. Except for a few moments, I’ve always been pretty proud of being different. What fun is there in being just like everybody else? LOL.

Bex: Tell us one thing it would surprise us to know about you?

Elyzabeth: Elyzabeth M. VaLey is my pen name! Both my real name and my last name start with M, hence the M. in the middle. *g*

Bex: Tell us something about your book we won’t find in the back cover blurb?

Elyzabeth: There is a secondary character that might get his own novel in the future…

Bex: Coke or Pepsi?

Elyzabeth: Neither. I don’t like Coke, Pepsi or anything that has a similar taste. I used to drink it until I was in 4th grade, but during a class party, I tasted Pepsi Boom or Pepsi Max (I can no longer remember) and from that point on, I can’t stand the taste. The only way for me to drink Coke is in what Spaniards call “Calimocho”. It’s a mix between wine and Coke and it’s what adolescents have when they start drinking alcohol. Still, I’m not very prone to it either.

Bex: If I were to look in your closet right now, would I find frills and lace or demin and tees?

Elyzabeth: You’d find both. I have frills and lace, especially for going out, because I favor the romantic Goth style, but as late, since most Goth clothes are so expensive, I’m using more jeans and tees, so there’s also some of that. Then there’s also my “normal” work clothes.

Bex: Great answers! Thanks, Elyzabeth 🙂


Now that you all know a bit more about the author, let’s take a look at Elyzabeth’s newest release, THE LOST MERCENARY

Blurb:

All he ever wanted was a family and some land for farming. Instead, his dreams were ripped at the seams by a ruthless king. Choosing to become a mercenary, Gregorii has roamed the land clinging to a past he thought long gone until Emmeline stumbled onto his path. Now, his dreams resurface and hope re-emerges. The only problem is Emmeline’s defiance.

Emmeline has a secret. An important secret. A dangerous secret. Few know her mission. Fewer know her past. When Gregorii turns up in her life, past, present and future unite and her whole world threatens to crumble.

How long will she be able to hide the truth from him? How long will her heart resist the inevitable?

Excerpt:

Sharply taking hold of her hands, he tied her wrists together. Pulling her to her feet, he bound her to the lowest branch, forcing her to almost stand on her tiptoes. Her face was flushed, her eyes bright and her hair disheveled, the taut braid she wore earlier practically gone. Gregorii swept his gaze over her body and he felt his cock ooze in appreciation. She was truly gorgeous. Curvy, with toned legs and breasts with large hard nipples begging to be touched and tasted.

“Grearióus, release me or I will kill you,” she threatened in a low murmur.

He lifted his eyes to her face and licked his lips. He was anxious to kiss her again, yet he knew it would not be an easy task at the moment. “I believe your position is not exactly one of ease for killing, though I do not doubt your capabilities. You have a nasty right hook,” he said, rubbing his shoulder. “And incredibly strong legs, not to mention a delicious tasting pussy. No wonder you became mistress of the brothel.”

Emmeline spat at his feet and he grinned.

“Tell me what I want to know and I will release you and no one will know the better. We can even have a peaceful fuck afterwards. I know you want it as much as I do.” He glanced into her eyes, but she spat again, this time the dribble landing on his face. Chuckling, he brushed it off like a bothersome fly.

“I’ve been submitted to worst torture than this. You don’t have it in you to hurt me. You were never good at hurting others.”

“It’s been ten years, Avalina, I have changed.”

“No, you haven’t. You are still the gentleman, the kind hearted soul who will help maidens in distress. You might be a mercenary, but that is only on the outside. Inside, you are still that playful boy with a heart of gold. I have seen you fight before and it was not what we just did here. You didn’t want to hurt me,” she accused.

“You didn’t want to hurt me too badly, either. You killed that man in the woods without contemplation. Right now, you doubted your moves or we would both be very badly injured. In truth, you’re still that vulnerable child challenging everyone because she’s scared of the world.”

“No.”

“No?”

“No, Grearióus. I lost my vulnerability the moment Ragnahall burned down. I admit I am scared of the world. You have no idea what is out there, Gregorii,” she whispered anxiously. “But now, I challenge for survival.”

“You don’t always have to fight against everything, Ava,” he murmured. “You don’t have to fight me.”

He watched Emmeline carefully as she lowered her lashes and chewed on her bottom lip, mulling on his words. In two strides, he stood inches away from her, his fists clenched at his sides so he wouldn’t touch her. She glanced up at him with large brown eyes full of fear, causing his heart to flutter nervously.  “Why won’t you tell me why you’re really going to Karpathian?” he asked softly.

Emmeline squared her jaw, her lips thinning and her eyes growing hard. “There is nothing to tell, Gregorii.”

“I think there is.”

She shook her head, lose strands of her long hair falling over her face, framing the pink lips he itched to kiss.

“You will tell me.”

“Like I said,”—she lifted her cool gaze to his eyes—“there is nothing to tell.”

“I will torture you for information.”

“I am no stranger to pain.”

Gregorii grinned and laughed. Reaching out, he roughly cupped her jaw. She inhaled sharply. “The torture I have in mind for you, Emmeline, my sweet Avalina, is quite different.” Dropping his head, he captured her lips in a searing kiss. She hesitated for a fraction of a second before opening her mouth to him and allowing his tongue to brush hungrily against hers. Gregorii pressed the length of his body against hers, wanting her to feel the need between his legs. He dropped his hands to her ass, caressing and squeezing the firm, round globes. Emmeline whimpered, the sound fueling his desire to new heights. His fingers brushed against the apex between her thighs, the heat there blazing. Panting slightly, he pulled away.

“I am no stranger to sex,” she said huskily.

Gregorii grinned. “I know, but I believe that like most whores, you are a stranger to soul weakening desire. The kind of attraction we feel for each other is as strange to you as it is to me.”

Buy links:

Evernight Publishing: http://www.evernightpublishing.com/the-lost-mercenary-by-elyzabeth-m-valey/

Author Bio: In love with love, Elyzabeth M. VaLey leads a double life. By day, she is a journalism graduate searching for her big break while working as a switchboard operator. When she is out of the office, she enjoys walking her quirky 11-year-old boxer and 1 year old obsessed-with- playing Labrador. Finally, at night, when the rest of the world sleeps, she gathers her notes, dons her glasses and brings to life her stories of romance, magic and fantasy.

I love to hear from readers! Get in touch with me at:

Blog: www.inadreambeyond.blogspot.com

Web: www.elyzabethmvaley.weebly.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ElyzabethMVaLey/info

Twitter: http://twitter.com/ElyzabethVaLey

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/ElyzabethMVaLey

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on November 13, 2012, in Author Interview, Blog Events, Erotic Romance, Evernight Publishing, Fiction, New Release News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

