Make Believe Blog Tour: An Interview with Contributing Author, Kelly Said

Continuing with my Make Believe Blog Tour posts, today I’ve managed to finagle a visit from Kelly Said, one of the contributing authors featured in the anthology. You can find my full review of the anthology HERE.

I met Kelly on the Writer’s Digest forums a couple years ago now, and she is one heck of a writer, not to mention a cool person to have as a writing buddy.

Thanks for coming by, Kelly. I’ll try not to hit you with too many hard hitting questions 😛 I’ll even start with a rather easy one to answer.

Rebecca: What inspired you to write your short story for the MAKE BELIEVE anthology?

Kelly: I was heavily influenced by the photo prompt the publisher provided, there seemed to be a contradiction as to the wintry scene and the girl in the red cape – with bare arms. It seemed like she wasn’t expecting the cold weather and that’s where my story took off: what if some crazy blizzard wiped out summer completely?

Rebecca:  Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Kelly: I’m both. I start off all exuberant and write a scene as it comes to mind, and then from there, I cease writing and begin plotting, working to isolate the critical points in the story to make sure I don’t write astray.

Rebecca: Do you have any writing rituals or special processes you complete before sitting down to write?

Kelly: I like to make sure I have all the essentials before I sit down for a writing session: caffeine, computer, dictionary, notepad, multicolored pens. Once I’m nestled in, I’m a go for writing, hehe!

Rebecca: Which of the characters in your current release is your favorite? Why?

Kelly: My main character, Sterling August was my favorite to write, not just because I’d lapse into a drooly dreamstate while imagining him, his dark hair, piercing blue eyes, and close cropped beard, hehe! He’s intriguing, he’s struggling to fend off a possible curse and solve the mystery of his father’s illness, but he ends up discovering so much more about himself and the world around him that by the end of the story, I was ready to keep on writing beyond the word count restrictions.

Rebecca: Morning person or grumpy bear?

Kelly: I’m a forced morning person, getting up at some ridiculous hour like 3:30 am to make time to write, hehe!

Rebecca: If I were to look in your closet right now, would I find frills and lace or demin and tees?

Kelly: You’d find denim and tees, doc martens, and scarves galore. I keep the frills and lace in a special drawer… 😉

Rebecca: Coke or Pepsi?

Kelly: Coke, diet, straight, no straw. 😉

Rebecca: If you were taken and places on a deserted island, and were allowed one other human being to spend your life with you on that island, who would you choose?

Kelly: My Hubs, because he’s awesome.

That may just be the most pukingly sweet answer to that question I have gotten so far. Congrats 😛

Now that we’ve met Kelly — let’s take a look at her story from the Make Believe anthology, Petrified.

BLURB: A mysterious storm has replaced summer with winter, devastating crops and smothering Castle lands in snow. Prince Sterling August stands alone as a leader, lost in personal grief as well as a desire to help his people but with an inability to do either.

The answers he needs await him, but without Lochlyn, a woman who’s just as isolated as Sterling, he’ll never see what stands before him, cloaked in illusion.

Author Bio: Kelly loves life in the foothills of Colorado’s Rocky Mountains. When she’s not reading, being doted on by Mr. S, or pressed for attention by the wet nose of her beefy bull terrier, she can be found huddled over her little laptop writing whatever catches her fancy — mostly stories for Young Adults.

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Anthologies, Author Interview, Blog Tours, Book Promotion, Fantasy, J. Taylor Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love how your list of ‘to-haves’ for writing starts with caffeine. hehehehe

    Like

  2. hehe Terri! Thanks for swinging by to comment! 😀 ❤ and thank you so much to Reb for hosting me and leaving me with a huge grin on my face! You're the best! 😀

    Like

  3. Nice interview, ladies.

    Kelly, getting up at 3:30 a.m. is true dedication. I’m usually just getting to bed around then. 😉

    Like

  1. Pingback: What I learned from my first blog tour | J. Keller Ford ~ Author

Leave a Reply

