An Interview with Doris O’Connor, Author of Too Devious To Tame @evernightpub

As a special treat, today I’ve scored a visit from erotic romance author, Doris O’Connor. She was kind enough to let me pick her brain a bit as part of today’s new release news.

A big thank you to Doris for taking the time to answer my silly questions in the name of promoting her latest release, TOO DEVIOUS TO TAME.

Bex: When did you first start writing? What made you want to be a writer?

Doris: I’ve always spun stories in my head for as long as I can remember. I used to get into terrible trouble at school for day dreaming, and my gran used to box me around the head on a regular basis ‘to pay attention.’ Lol She meant well, I guess.

I started countless novels as a teenager, wrote some fanfic as you do, and that’s as far as it went until September 2010. A friend entered a writing competition and encouraged me to do it also. I didn’t get anywhere in that competition but I haven’t stopped writing since.

Bex: What inspired you to write your novel, Too Devious To Tame? Is there an interesting story behind it?

Doris: Well, Too devious To Tame is book three in a series, and I actually started this story back in 2010. I had written book one during Nano that year and I’d fallen in love with the Giovanni, so book two quickly followed, and then this one, and then I stalled.

You see, this story is much darker than the other two in parts, and back then I was newly pregnant and hormonal and couldn’t cope with writing it.

I still found parts of it tough all this time later, but I never shirk away from a challenge and I knew I needed to write Giorgio and Jemima’s story, and I needed to do it justice. So, during Nano last year, I pulled up my big girl panties and let my characters guide me to tell the story they wanted me to tell.

As a result, this book has jumped a heat level!

Bex: Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Doris: I’m a complete and utter panster. I never know what will happen when I sit down to write. In this story I had many moments of, “Oh Wow, I so didn’t see that coming.” It all makes sense and somehow comes together, but the whole process is a bit of a mystery to me. I’ve learnt to simply listen to my characters and write what they tell me, even it doesn’t make sense at the time. They know their story after all, so who I am to argue 😉

Bex: Do you have any writing rituals or special processes you complete before sitting down to write?

Doris: LOL, I’m a mum of nine, so I haven’t got the luxury of that. I write whenever I get a chance to, mostly late at night when everyone is asleep. Though I’ve been known to write whilst cooking dinner, when the characters are screaming at me. Writing sex scenes whilst sorting out arguments between the kids can be interesting I tell you!

Bex: What authors inspire you?

Doris: I have many automatic buy authors, and every book that I read inspires me in some way. But, if I had to name just one then it would have to be my very good friend and honorary grandma of my youngest. Raven McAllan is a prolific writer. She also ‘redits’ all my work and spurs me on when I feel like procrastinating, as do the other members in my critique group. I’m very lucky to have such a fantastic support network.

Bex: Which of the characters in your current release is your favorite? Why?

Doris: I would have to say Stella Giovanni. She lightens the mood like only she can, and I so have to give her her own story. She has been a favourite of mine all through the three books, and I think a book just for her would be such a hoot to write. The woman is just impossible, lol.

Bex: Are any of your characters modeled after real people?  If so, which ones?

Doris: I did that once. It was very cathartic to have my heroine say everything to this person that I would like to have said to that particularly annoying person in real life. And no, I am not telling you who, to protect the innocent.

Bex: If allowed to keep only one book on your bookshelf, what would it be?

Doris: Only one? Meeep! Could you imagine? It would have to be Gone With The Wind. I just adore that story!

Bex: Morning person or grumpy bear?

Doris: Oh, the grumpiest of grumpy bears ever. You don’t want to come near me until I’ve had several coffees, you really don’t.

Bex: Coke or Pepsi?

Doris: Coke every time.

Bex: If I were to look in your closet right now, would I find frills and lace or demin and tees?

Doris: Hahah, me and frills and lace?!? I’m a tee and jeans girl, always have been, always will be.

Bex: If you were only allowed to eat one dessert for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Doris: Chocolate mousse

Bex: What scares you the most?

Doris: Losing my children. I don’t know how any parent could cope with that.

Bex: If you were taken and places on a deserted island, and were allowed one other human being to spend your life with you on that island, who would you choose?

Doris: Hmm, I should say my husband here, shouldn’t I? But if we’re talking fantasy, then it would have to be Alexander Skarsgard. *sighs to self*

Bex: Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Doris: Vampires, because they are so damn sexy.

Bex: Now that we’ve gotten to know Doris a bit better, let’s have a look at her latest release, TOO DEVIOUS TO TAME.

TDTTBlurb: When Giorgio Giovanni tracks the troublesome Jemima down in a hospital bed in Italy, he has one thing on his mind—revenge. However, the fragile woman he encounters is not the devious female he remembers. When it becomes clear that she is in danger, he risks everything to keep her safe.

Left for dead, Jemima wakes up in hospital, terrified, and with no idea of her identity. The angry man, who comes to claim her, is the only link to a shared past she can’t remember. A past that threatens to destroy them, and all she has ever held dear.

With danger all around them, and their sexual chemistry off the scale, can they find their way back to each other, or is the past too devious to tame?

** NOTE: The information contained below is for mature audiences only. If you are offended by erotic literature or are under 18, please do not read further. **

Excerpt:

Tears clouded her vision at the concern in his voice, and he swore and moved to untie her.

“No, I’m fine, really. Leave it. Show me how it should be, please. Help me to forget.”

He stared at her for the longest time, one large hand, hot and heavy on her belly, his gaze so intense it took her breath away.  When he finally smiled, it lit up his harsh features. She didn’t catch the murmured Italian words he mumbled under his breath, but the kiss that followed had her curl her toes into the bed with the effort to not release herself from her bonds and bury her hands in his hair to make him hurry up and fuck her.

He was breathing as heavily as she by the time he released her, and she bit back a moan when he simply ripped the rest of her dress off her. Her bra and knickers followed the fate of her dress, until she lay in front of him naked, wet, and wanting. He ran his knuckles slowly up and down her tummy in ever widening circles, and then reached across to the ice bucket with a slow grin.

“Shut your eyes for me, cara.”   His voice had dropped an octave, and her stomach dropped right with it, seeing him hold a couple of ice cubes in his fingers. She shook her head and bucked off the bed, when he flicked his hand over her breasts. Ice cold drops of water fell on her skin and trickled between the valley of her breasts. He licked the drops away, his warm tongue taking away the coldness left by the water.

“Shut your eyes, trust me. This will be so much better for you when you can’t see what I’m doing.” He kissed a path down her quivering tummy, and she blinked back tears at the tender way he caressed her abdomen. He paused to drop a long kiss just above her pubic bone, and his hot breath teased her wet folds. Her clit tingled, and she shut her eyes, as he renewed his request for her to do so. She couldn’t see what he was doing, but the bed dipped as he adjusted his weight again. His hot mouth closed over one of her nipples at the same time as the other was subjected to an ice cube being circled around it.

She gasped at the intense sensation, and Giorgio swapped sides. The difference between his warm mouth and tongue and the ice cube sent her body into spasms of need. She writhed under him, and he laughed. Again and again he repeated the process all along her body. A path of ice, followed by the warmth of his tongue as he licked the icy trails away, leaving fiery awareness in its wake. By the time he finally reached her pussy, she was hovering on the brink of orgasm. She whimpered her need when he pushed an ice cube high into her channel and then proceeded to lick around her clit, careful to never touch her when she needed him most. The melting ice cube mixed in with her own juices and trickled slowly out her hole. Her pussy clenched, and she didn’t recognize the needy voice pleading with him to please do something.

He blew against her slit and shouldered her legs wider.

Così bello, e tutto mio.”   He followed the words with a kiss, and she screamed when he pulled her clit into his mouth and swirled his tongue around it, at the same time as he pushed another ice cube into her empty channel. Her walls closed around the slippery object, and spasmed wildly as the first quivers of her orgasm hit. Giorgio groaned into her core and stepped up his sweet torture on her clit. When he pushed two fingers into her core, and massaged her sweet spot, the intensity of her orgasm hit her with the full force of freight train.

“That’s it, tesoro, fly for me.” He caught her scream of release in his mouth, and she could taste herself in the passionate kiss he gave her, dimly aware of him withdrawing his fingers and replacing them with his cock. Thick, hard, and so very long he filled her completely as he pushed into her swollen core, until he was seated to the hilt. She wrapped her legs around him and dug her feet into his calves to give him better access and to take him as deep as she could. He started thrusting, every move driving him deeper into her, and tumbling her right over the edge again, as her inner muscles contracted around his thick member. Faster and faster he pumped, his harsh breathing in her ear the most erotic sound ever, his hands and lips seemingly everywhere, arousing every little bit of skin he touched until her whole body was a mass of sensation. Again her body climbed toward that peak of sheer joy, and this time Giorgio was with her every step of the ecstatic journey they took together. Her eyes flew open, and she drowned in the rolling depths of emotion she saw reflected in his, as they came together in their explosive release.

When her body finally stopped shaking, she could taste the salt of tears in her mouth. Giorgio kissed them off her face, and he released her from her bonds, and pulled her into his embrace. She had to smile at his grumbled, “If this is pretending, then I hate to see what will happen when we do this for real.”


Now, if you’re anything like me, you’re steamed up, and ready to pick up a copy of Too Devious to Tame.

Here’s where you can get it:

Evernight Publishing

To learn more about Doris O’Connor or her other titles, please visit her at the below links:

Website  Blog Twitter Facebook Pinterest

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on February 9, 2013, in Author Interview, Blog Events, Erotic Romance, Evernight Publishing, Fiction, New Release News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am so glad Stella is next! Love that woman!

    Like

  2. Great interview! I just recently read her first book, Too Hot to Handle, and learned some colorful language 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading books 2 and 3, and i wonder if “poppycock” shows up in those too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

