Getting Closer to FREE READS Time: Gearing Up #Free #CalloftheSea #ShortStory

As some of you may know, the reason for my lackluster posting schedule here on the blog has a lot to do with my alter-ego author, R. Brennan. Having had three releases in December of last year, and her work on another tale to release sometime in May 2013, I haven’t had much time to devote to this side of my personality.

But, finally, the expected release dates for Inkspell Publishing’s Free Reads Week sometime in May, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. While May is still another month away, the change in the weather and the smell of spring in the air has me looking toward the beginnings of summer and all the comes with it — including my free read, FATE’S VOYAGE. I can’t wait to share the continuation of Ellie and Daniel’s story with you all.

Here is just a bit of what I have in store for all of you.

“Captain O’Rourke! You’re needed below right away, sir.” Mac came screeching to a halt before him. “Miss Amelia says yer to come right quick!”

Panic closed Daniel’s throat.

*Ellie!*

Leaving the wheel with the lad, he darted down the quarterdeck stairs and raced across the deck, heart hammering its way up his throat.

Startled crewman scrambled from his path, their shock turning to wide-eyed concern as the frenzied captain disappeared below.

Daniel found Amelia waiting for him outside the door to his cabin, her fingers fretting each other at her waist.

Her tense expression relaxed when she caught sight of him. “Thank heavens.”

His gaze shot to the closed door at her back. “What’s wrong? Is Ellie alright?”

“Yes, but you’ve got to talk to her. She won’t sit still. Since you left at dawn, she’s cleaned the entire cabin floor to rafter, rearranged all her father’s maps and ledgers. Twice. And, now she’s piled all of your clothing to be washed and expects me to have Mac fill the washbasin. You know as well as I she can’t be bending over a washtub in her condition. It’s just too much!” Her hands resumed their nervous activity.

It was all Daniel could do to hide the smile pulling at the corners of his mouth. He placed a calming hand on Amelia’s shoulder. “We both knew how hard it would be for her to make this voyage not being able to do what she’s used to doing. I’m surprised the idleness hasn’t gotten to her before now, frankly. Ellie’s isn’t one to sit still for very long.” He offered a reassuring smile. “Don’t worry. I’ll talk to her. Why don’t you take a break? Go on deck. Get some air.”

“You promise you won’t let her do that wash?”

Daniel knocked his heels together, placed a hand over his heart while the other rose, palm facing her. “You have my solemn vow. She’ll not touch a garment.”

Amelia blew a puff of air through the fringe of curls at her brow, shoulders relaxing. “Scoff if you wish, but you know how she is when she’s riled up. I’ll be in the kitchen if you need me for anything.” She sidestepped him and headed up the companionway, shaking her head and mumbling to herself.

After a moments hesitation to prepare himself for the whirlwind he called wife, Daniel twisted the handle and opened the cabin door.

*wiggles* I can’t wait to have the chance to share the rest.

What about you all? I have to believe some of you have read it. *wink*

What would you like to see in a follow-up story to Call of the Sea? What questions about Ellie and Daniel would you like to see answered? I love comments, so feel free to leave your thoughts.

Until next time. 🙂

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Blogging, Call of the Sea, Fiction, General, Inkspell Publishing, My Writing, Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can’t wait for this free read, Rebecca. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

