New Release News: Blood Hunt by Naomi Clark #Erotic #Romance #LGBT

blood-hunt (2) (1)BLOOD HUNT
Urban Wolf 3
by Naomi Clark

Genre: F/F Erotic Romance (Paranormal)

Publisher: Evernight Publishing

Release Date: October 7, 2013

Blurb:

Ayla Hammond is taking on Paris. Hoping for a romantic getaway in the City of Lights with her girlfriend, Shannon, she finds a city under the dark thrall of Le Monstre. Getting caught up in mystery and murder was the last thing Ayla and Shannon wanted or expected, but as the body count grows and tension rises between Parisian werewolves and humans, they find themselves stalked by an unknown terror.
What is Le Monstre and why does it make Ayla’s wolf want to turn tail and run? Can it be stopped before they become its next victims?

Excerpt (Mature Audiences Only):

I leapt off the sofa, knocking Shannon to the floor, and rushed to the window. As I flung it open, warm night air hit me, carrying a scent like rotting fruit with it. I sneezed and stuck my head out, trying to find the source of the noise. A single streetlight flickered nearby, casting patchy light over the narrow cobbled street. Directly opposite our building was a small news agents, the neon sign casting green and red light over the staff leaning out the door, looking around for the screamer.

It only took me another second to find her. A few feet further up the street, kneeling beside a shadowy form, hands clutching thick black hair as she rocked back and forth, was Sun. Her high-pitched, wordless scream bounced off the stone walls all around her.

“Shit.” I ran for the door, my wolf on red alert. Pack in danger, nothing else mattered.

Shannon grabbed me before I reached the door, pulling me back. “What’s going on?”

“It’s Sun.”

Eyes wide, Shannon joined my dash for the door. All my earlier bitchy thoughts disappeared as we ran down the stairs to the street. What could cause those bloodcurdling shrieks? My stomach lurched. I wasn’t sure I wanted to find out.

Out on the street, the shop staff and customers surrounded Sun. One man was trying to pull her away from whatever she knelt beside, others were shouting and waving. A woman fiddled with her mobile phone. The scent of rotting fruit was stronger, a salty tang of blood coupled with it. I wanted to gag, both from the smell and the dread gnawing at my stomach. I grabbed Shannon’s hand to slow her down, gut instinct telling me she didn’t want to see this.

As I pushed my way past the people with a mumbled excuse moi I knew that the fallen form Sun screamed over had to be Mike, but knowing it didn’t prepare me for seeing him. Sun cradled him in her arms, his body limp and pale. His eyes looked so dark against paper-white skin, like black holes. The sickly-sweet smell pulsed off him, sticking in my throat. The killing wound was at his throat—a rough, vicious bite that had pierced the artery. Blood still ran in thick rivulets down his neck and shoulders, soaking into his dark shirt and Sun’s white skirt.

My wolf’s reaction was fast and visceral: fear so sharp and bitter it left me frozen and useless.

“My God,” Shannon breathed, dropping down beside Sun to pry her hands away from Mike. “Sun, come on, let him go,” she said gently. “You don’t want to get all upset and risk the baby—”

“Fuck the baby!” Sun shrieked, throwing her off. “I am upset!”

Upset was hardly the word. As much as I admired Shannon for keeping her cool and trying to help, there was no way I’d get between Sun and the dead man right now. I noticed one of the onlookers, a wolf, hanging back too. His eyes glowed green in the streetlight, wide with the same weird fear that gripped me. I wanted to ask him why he was so scared, see if he could explain my own reaction to me, but I didn’t know how. Instead I watched as Shannon and another waiter gently forced Sun away from Mike’s body, pulling her to her feet and dragging her back. My wolf whimpered and whined in my head. It took all my willpower not to turn and flee the scene. That sweet, bitter scent hanging over Mike touched some primal part of me, triggering a deep terror that shot past my human, logical side and hit the animal hard.

I’d never wanted to run away so much in my life and I had no idea why.

Buy Links:

Evernight Publishing  |  Amazon  |  All Romance eBooks  |  Bookstrand

About the Author:

Naomi Clark lives in Cambridge and is a mild-mannered office worker by day, but a slightly crazed writer by night. She has a perfectly healthy obsession with giant sea creatures and a preference for vodka-based cocktails. When she’s not writing, Naomi is probably either reading or watching 80s cartoon shows, and sometimes she manages to do all three at once.

http://naomijay.blogspot.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/naomijclark

https://twitter.com/naomi_jay

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on October 22, 2013, in Blog Events, Erotic Romance, Evernight Publishing, Fiction, LGBT Romance, New Release News, Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

