My Writing Process Blog Event: My turn to own up thanks to @ElyzabethMVaLey #writing

I’ve been tagged in a fun little blog event we’ve affectionately called the “Writing Process Blog Thingie”. 😛

writing_essay

Basically, I’ve been tagged by the wonderful Elyzabeth M. VaLey in a post on her blog last week, and this week, it’s time to pay the piper and share a little bit about my own writing process.

Here goes 🙂

1)     What am I working on?

Anyone who knows me kn0ws I am working on far too many stories than I should. Right now, I am working on the next story in my Roses and Thorns BDSM series, plus I have a naughty fairy tale in the works I would like to submit before summer is in full swing. On the mainstream author side (Rebecca Hart), I’ve got an antho release in March and I’d like to get the first novel in her fantasy series finished off and out for consideration.

2)     How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’d like to think my writing brings the elements of strong prose and vivid description together with believable, likable characters and a story you can’t get out of your head. My erotic writing I think lends beauty to the oft misunderstood world of BDSM and the amazingly romantic elements inherent in the lifestyle. You’d have to tell me if I’ve accomplished that with my stories. 🙂

3)     Why do I write what I do?

With respect to BDSM romance, I write it because of what I mentioned above — the idea that the lifestyle is somehow dirty or taboo in some way. I hope to really highlight the romantic beauty and profound love that can be obtained in a strong BDSM relationship.

4)     How does your writing process work?
My writing process, and schedule, are complete chaotic. I work a FT job, so I tend to steal time wherever and whenever I can. I have written stories during meetings at the office, during breaks or lunches, before work, weekends, after work… the list goes on. I can be a procrastinator, so I do much better with a solid deadline than left to flounder and schedule my writing on my own. Really, the only thing I absolutely have to have to get my writing done is music, and the type depends strongly on the type of story I’m writing at the time. So, my writing process revolves mostly around inspirational playlists.
Now for the fun part of this feature — tagging some fellow authors for you to visit with. They will both be sharing their writing process next week on MONDAY, FEB. 25th, so be sure to stop by and visit with them as well. 🙂

See you next time.
~Bex

About Bex Brennan

I never know what to put here. I assume something witty to make you think I'm interesting. But, Im just me -- a published erotica writer, single parent with a day job. I love my kids, writing, my boyfriend (life partner sounds ridiculous), my dog and going to camp on the weekends. *shrugs* That's all I got for ya.

Posted on February 17, 2014, in Blog Events, General, My Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh, loved reading about your writing process, Rebecca! I think you do accomplish what you mean to ❤ By the way, I love it that you're like me: music is important when writing! We should trade playlists sometime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

